Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

Cannot sign out of MacBook after deleting Apple ID: SOLVED

Can't sign out of MacBook after deleting Apple ID and forgetting to logout before account deletion: SOLVED


I'm posting this here hopefully to help others who have the same issue. I came to the apple discussions forums and only saw and received USELESS responses like "well obviously you didn't read the fine print before deleting your account, it tells you pretty clearly to log out." Well, life happens, and sometimes you forget a device or two.


In my case, I forgot my work laptop (Macbook Pro) that I had signed in on using my personal Apple ID. I kept getting "verification failed" or "Can't connect to your Apple ID" popups. Literally every 30 minutes or so, I would get 3 or 4 of them back to back to back. Very annoying. I finally was able to solve it. Here is how:


  1. Grant Terminal Access: Click the Apple Logo > System Settings > Privacy & Security > Full Disk Access. Find Terminal in the list and toggle it on.
  2. Open Terminal: Press Command + Space, type Terminal, and press Return.
  3. Clear the Database: Copy and paste the exact command below into the window and press Return:rm -rf ~/Library/Accounts/*(If Terminal asks "sure you want to delete all the files...", type y and press Return).
  4. Restart: Close the Terminal window, click the Apple Logo, and select Restart.


After you restart, your laptop will still be in exactly the same state as before the process. No files are gone, apps are all still there. Your browser has your cookies and logins saved still. The ONLY difference (that I've noticed so far) is that there is no apple ID account logged in. You can then login to a new or different Apple Id and voila, you're good to go!

0 replies

There are no replies.